KGOU Pledge Online Today!Follow Us at FacebookLive Streaming
Former Lawmakers Join Insurance Dept. (Jan 10, 2011)

OKLAHOMA CITY - Three former state legislators will take positions at the Oklahoma Insurance Department.

New Insurance Commissioner John Doak announced last week that Former State Sens. Randy Brogdon and Owen Laughlin, and former Rep. Mike Thompson will be serving in his administration as deputy insurance commissioners.

Brogdon lost the GOP gubernatorial primary in 2010 to Congresswoman Mary Fallin, who was sworn in as governor on Monday.

Oklahoma's constitution bars lawmakers from working for a state agency within two years of leaving office unless the salary comes from private or federal funds.

Ass. Ins. Com. Rick Farmer told The Oklahoman ex-legislators may take paid positions with the state within that period if paid with funds not appropriated from the Legislature.

Farmer says 99% of the Department's budget comes from fees and penalties.

« back


High Speed Low Speed streaming issues High Speed Low Speed streaming issues