KGOU Pledge Online Today!Follow Us at FacebookLive Streaming
House Passes Congressional Redistricting Bill (Apr 19, 2011)

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — A plan to redraw Oklahoma's five U.S. congressional districts has been unanimously approved in the state House and now moves to the Senate for consideration.

The state's five congressmen agreed to the plan that makes only minor changes to each district.

States are required to redraw congressional districts each ten years based on the latest census data.

U.S. Rep. Dan Boren in the 2nd Congressional District is the only Democrat in the delegation and will pick up the northwest section of Rogers County from Rep. John Sullivan in the 1st District. Boren's district will also now include Marshall County, which currently is in Rep. Tom Cole's 4th Congressional District.

Cole and Sullivan's districts include fast-growing suburbs of Oklahoma City and Tulsa and must be reduced to meet federal population requirements.

« back


High Speed Low Speed streaming issues High Speed Low Speed streaming issues