KGOU Pledge Online Today!Follow Us at FacebookLive Streaming
Governor Signs Bill to End Collective Bargaining (Apr 29, 2011)

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Republican Gov. Mary Fallin has signed a bill to eliminate collective bargaining rights for city workers in the state's largest municipalities.

Fallin signed the bill on Friday despite objections from opponents who complain the measure will leave city workers without a voice and result in lower wages.

Currently, cities with more than 35,000 residents are required to collectively bargain with their employees. The bill signed by Fallin only applies to non-uniformed personnel in 12 Oklahoma municipalities — not to teachers or police and firefighters.

Those cities are Bartlesville, Broken Arrow, Edmond, Enid, Lawton, Moore, Midwest City, Muskogee, Norman, Oklahoma City, Stillwater, and Tulsa. Four of those cities — Muskogee, Norman, Oklahoma City and Tulsa — had collective bargaining agreements in place prior to the original law being passed in 2004.

« back


High Speed Low Speed streaming issues High Speed Low Speed streaming issues