KGOU Pledge Online Today!Follow Us at FacebookLive Streaming
Gov Fallin Declares State of Emergency (May 30, 2012)

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for 35 Oklahoma counties because of severe storms that caused flooding and spawned a tornado.

Fallin declared the emergency on Wednesday after storms crossed the state Tuesday and early Wednesday. The storms damaged homes, businesses and vehicles and caused numerous power outages. Damage assessments were under way and more severe weather was expected Wednesday evening.

Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Creek, Custer, Grady, Hughes, Kingfisher, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pittsburg and Seminole counties were among those included in the state of emergency.

The declaration allows state agencies to make emergency purchases to expedite the delivery of resources to cities and towns and is a first step toward seeking federal assistance, if needed.

« back


High Speed Low Speed streaming issues High Speed Low Speed streaming issues